The Neanderthal Museum Foundation

The Neanderthal Museum Foundation, a civil law foundation, operates the museum. It fosters Neanderthal cultural heritage for the general public as well as for scientific and research interests.

It was established by the District of Mettmann and the Neanderthal Society (previously known as the Friends of the Neanderthal Museum). Only a small part of the Neanderthal Museum's operational costs are provided by public funds. The majority of these costs are met through ticket and sales revenue.

The construction and fitting out of the museum in 1996 was made possible by the NRW-Stiftung Natur, Heimat Kultur, and RWE. New sponsors of the Neanderthal Museum Foundation since 2002 are: Kreissparkasse Düsseldorf, Landschaftsverband Rheinland, the City of Mettmann, and the City of Erkrath.

Members of the Board of Trustees

The board is the highest authority within the Neanderthal Museum Foundation. The members are:

Representative of the Neanderthal Society:
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Gert Kaiser (Chairperson)

Representatives of the District of Mettmann:
Landrat Thomas Hendele (Deputy Chairperson)
Dr. Norbert Stapper
Manfred Krick
Michael Ruppert
Gabriele Hruschka

Representative of the NRW-Stiftung Naturschutz, Heimat- und Kulturpflege:
Prof. Dr. Schock-Werner

Representatives of the Landschaftsverband Rheinland:
Milena Karabaic
Stephan Schnitzler

Representative of the Kreissparkasse Düsseldorf:
Ulrich Rüther

Representative of the City of Mettmann:
Thomas Dinkelmann

Representative of the City of Erkrath:
Christoph Schultz

Honorary member:
Dr. Bernd Stoy

Members of the Executive Board

The Executive Board runs the business operations of the Neanderthal Museum Foundation. The members are:

Representative of the Neanderthal Society:
Robert Wirtz (Chairperson)

Representative of the City of Mettmann:
Volker Freund

Representative of the Neanderthal Museum:
Dr. Bärbel Auffermann (Deputy Chairperson)

Permanent guests:
A representative of the NRW-Stiftung
Roland Ebbing, Deputy Director of the Neanderthal Museum

© 2022 · Stiftung Neanderthal Museum